Interview de Jessica Brody / 14.10.15

Interview de Jessica Brody

Billet à lire : Le Programmeur de mémoire.

Introduction

Hi, who’re you? Bonjour ! Je m’appelle Jessica. Je parle français (je l’ai étudié à l’université et j’ai habité en France pendant un an), mais c’est plus facile de répondre à ces questions en anglais ! J’espère que vous comprendrez !

How’s life going on these days? Life is great! I’m working on two new books right now and I have another two books releasing in the US next year! (Also another in France next year!)

La vie est belle ! Je travaille actuellement sur deux nouveaux livres alors que deux autres vont être publiés aux Etats-Unis l’an prochain ! (et un en France également !) [ndlf : chez Au Diable Vauvert]

Apart from your activity as a writer, do you also have a « real » job that helps to pay the bills? No. My “real” job is writing. I do it full time.

Non, écrire est mon « vrai » métier. C’est mon travail à plein temps.

Encoder la mémoire, c'est un travail de longue haleine et que les écrivains de SF ont théorisé il y a bien longtemps, mais encore d'actualité sur les claviers !

Encoder la mémoire, c’est un travail de longue haleine et que les écrivains de SF ont théorisé il y a bien longtemps, mais encore d’actualité sur les claviers !

Works

Can you tell us more about what you did, prior to and leading to your work as a writer? Where do you come from, and what experiences did you have that helped shape your voice as a writer? Before becoming a full-time writer I was a financial analyst. Yes, Finance! Very different from writing. I worked for MGM Studios in Los Angeles and although I really loved my job, I knew writing was my passion. In 2005, I was laid off (made redundant) from my job and I decided, instead of looking for a new job, I would try to publish a book. I sold my first book at the end of 2006 and I have been writing ever since!
I was born in Los Angeles but I lived in both California and Colorado, where I live now.

Avant de devenir auteure à plein temps, j’étais analyste financière. Eh oui, dans la Finance ! Un autre monde ! J’ai travaillé pour MGM Studios [ndlf : chez Mickey] à L.A. et, même si j’aimais véritablement ce que je faisais, ma passion était l’écriture. En 2005, j’ai été licenciée et, plutôt que de chercher un nouvel emploi, j’ai essayé de publier. J’ai vendu mon premier livre fin 2006 et depuis, j’écris !
Je suis née à LA et j’ai vécu en Californie et au Colorado, où je suis désormais installée.

Can you explain to us how you met your first publisher? Here, in the United States, it’s almost impossible to sell a novel to a major publisher without a literary agent. I was rejected almost 80 times before I wrote a book that an agent wanted to represent. Once I found my agent, she sold my book to St. Martin’s Press in 2006. It was a long, difficult process, but definitely worth the effort in the end!

Ici, aux Etats-Unis, c’est presque impossible de vendre un roman à une grosse boîte d’édition sans agent littéraire. J’ai été refoulée presque 80 fois avant d’écrire un livre qu’un agent a bien voulu défendre. Une fois mon agent trouvé, elle a vendu mon livre à St. Martin’s Press en 2006. Cela a été un long et difficile chemin mais qui, en définitive, valait vraiment la peine d’être entrepris.

You write in many different styles and your works are very different from each other. Are they all written because you want to, or do you also take commissions? Every book I write is a story I want to tell. Most of the books were my own ideas. I have had some publishers approach me with ideas and ask me to write them but I only say yes if it’s a story that really interests me. So, no, I would never write a book I didn’t want to write. I think that would result in a really horrible book! LOL!

Chaque livre que j’écris est une histoire que j’ai envie de raconter. La plupart d’entre eux étaient issus de mes propres idées. Quelques éditeurs m’ont contacté avec des idées et m’ont demandé d’en faire des romans mais je n’accepte que quand l’histoire m’intéresse réellement. Donc, non, je n’écrirai jamais un livre dont je n’ai pas envie. Je pense que cela donnerait un livre affreux ! Rires.

J'exagère peut-être le trait, mais j'ai comme qui dirait envie de ranger Le Programmeur de Mémoire au milieu de ça. Avouez que ça envoie.

J’exagère peut-être le trait, mais j’ai comme qui dirait envie de ranger Le Programmeur de Mémoire au milieu de ça. Avouez que ça envoie.

Critic

We’re here mostly to talk about the Unremembered TrilogyPlease tell us where it comes from. In 2009, I read a newspaper article about a 14-year-old girl who was the only survivor of a commercial airline crash. 153 people died. She survived. WHY? I wanted to know! But the newspaper article had no explanation. The media said it was a “miracle.” Because I couldn’t get an explanation from the news, I made up my own. It turned into an entire trilogy: The Unremembered Trilogy.

En 2009, j’ai lu un article à propos d’une jeune fille de 14 ans qui était la seule survivante du crash d’un avion de ligne. 153 personnes sont mortes. Elle a survécu. Pourquoi ? C’est cela que je voulais savoir ! Mais l’article ne donnait aucune explication. Les médias disaient qu’il s’agissait d’un miracle. C’est parce que je ne pouvais pas trouver d’explications dans les médias que j’ai décidé de créer la mienne. Cela a pris la forme d’une trilogie entière : La Trilogie Unremembered (Inaccessible).

I noticed several specificities and inspirations that remind me a lot of Philip K. Dick, especially the reflections about remembrance, and the way memories work, as well as the way the surrounding world sometimes becomes close to cyberpunk. Is it a conscious ascendance, or am I seeing things that just aren’t there? That’s an interesting observation! I’ve actually never read any of his books so no, it’s definitely not a conscious thing! I actually didn’t even know the word “cyberpunk” until AFTER I wrote the book and then I learned the term and I thought, “Yeah! That’s like my book!” So yes, it is a little “cyberpunk” and I think it reminds a lot of people of a lot of different things (because as a society, I think we are very fascinated by memories and the brain). But I hope when you read it, you’ll see why it’s different from other books that are similar in genre.

C’est une observation intéressante ! En fait, je n’ai lu aucun de ses ouvrages, donc non, ce n’est définitivement pas quelque chose de conscient ! Je ne connaissais même pas le mot cyberpunk jusqu’à avoir fini d’écrire le livre. Ensuite, quand j’ai appris le sens de ce terme j’ai pensé : « Yeah! C’est comme mon livre ! ». Donc oui, c’est un peu cyberpunk et je pense que ça touche beaucoup de gens de bien des façons (parce que je pense que notre société est fascinée par les souvenirs et le cerveau). Mais j’espère qu’en le lisant, tu remarqueras en quoi il est différent des autres livres du genre !

After The Bourne Identity, Inception and the Total Recall reboot, people are getting reacquainted with works about remembrance, and thinking about it. How did you want to work that theme in the trilogy? Great question! And The Bourne Identity and Inception were definitely big influences for me. I love the theme of memories and how they can betray you. I wanted to write a book that discussed “what is real?” and “how we know?” If memories and thoughts and dreams can be manipulated, how do we know what’s real? It’s crazy to think about!

Excellente question ! La trilogie Jason Bourne et Inception ont réellement été de fortes influences. J’adore ce qui touche à la mémoire et les façons dont elle peut nous trahir. Je voulais écrire un livre qui posait les questions « Qu’est-ce qui est réel ? » et « Comment savoir ? » Si les souvenirs, les pensées et les rêves peuvent être manipulés, comment savoir ce qui est réel ? C’est un peu fou, quand on y pense !

Regarding readers, was your goal to effect a shifting of these adult themes (about remembrance, the power of machines, entropy…) to a new generation of readers? I don’t really think that way when I start to write a book. I get an idea for a story, I think about what I want to say, and I just write. I don’t really think about the age group or who will be reading it. I just write the best story I can and hope that people enjoy it.

Je ne pense pas vraiment de cette façon quand je commence à écrire un livre. Quand j’ai une idée d’histoire, je pense à ce que je veux dire, et j’écris, tout simplement. Je ne réfléchis pas vraiment en fonction de l’âge des lecteurs qui vont être amenés à le lire. J’écris simplement la meilleure histoire possible et en espérant que les gens l’aimeront.

In what perspective did you write The Memory Coder ? As a promotional support, or as short story wholly separate, allowing you to explore another part of the universe? I was asked to write a short story by a science fiction website here in the United States and it was supposed to somehow be related to Unremembered. I thought for a long time about what to write. I re-read Unremembered and thought about which character I would love to explore. The answer was a character that’s not really even mentioned in the story but is a HUGE part of the story. The person who takes the memories away. I got really excited about the idea and started asking a lot of questions like, “What would that job entail?” “What kind of emotional stress would it cause?” And most important, “What happens when you the memory coder have memories that need to be erased.” The character of the Memory Coder, Sevan Sidler, stuck with me as I wrote the trilogy and I knew I wanted to bring him back into the story in a big way. He makes a reappearance in Book 3, Unchanged (which will release in France soon as Inalterable) and plays a big part in Seraphina’s journey.

On m’a demandé d’écrire une nouvelle pour un site de science-fiction aux Etats-Unis et elle devait être liée d’une façon ou d’une autre à Inaccessible [ndlf : le premier tome de la trilogie]J’ai réfléchis pendant un bon moment avant de savoir quoi écrire. J’ai re-lu mon propre livre et j’ai finalement mis le doigt sur le personnage que je voulais développer. Celui qui joue avec les souvenirs. J’étais vraiment vraiment emballée et ai commencé à soulever de nouvelles questions comme « En quoi consiste ce job ?« , « Quel genre de stress émotionnel doit être effacé ? » et, plus important encore« Qu’arrive-t-il quand vous, Programmeur de Mémoire, avez des souvenirs qui devraient être effacés ? » Le personnage du Programmeur de Mémoire, Sevan Sidler, m’a accompagnée tout au long de l’écriture de la trilogie et je voulais le ramener sur le devant de la scène de la meilleure des manières. Il fait une ré-apparition dans le tome 3, Inaltérable (qui sera bientôt publié en français) et occupe une part importante dans l’aventure de Seraphina.

How did your relations go with your French publisher ? Were you in direct contact with them ? Or possibly with the translator (Clémence Sébag for the novels & Laëtitia Graffart for the short story) ? Actually, the sale to the French publisher, Au Diable Vauvert, was handled entirely by my literary agent. They work with agents in France who have relationships with all the French publishers. They send out the American books to French publishers and the publishers make offers to buy the books and have them translated. Au Diable Vauvert also chose the translator (I’ve actually never met my translator) but I’ve heard the translation is excellent so I’m very happy about this relationship!

En réalité, la cession des droits envers l’éditeur français, Au Diable Vauvert, a été gérée entièrement par mon agent. Ils travaillent avec des agents en France qui sont en relation avec les éditeurs français. Ils proposent les livres américains aux éditeurs français et les éditeurs font leurs offres pour acheter et traduire lesdits ouvrages. Au Diable Vauvert a également choisi la traductrice (je ne l’ai jamais rencontrée) mais j’ai entendu dire que la traduction en français était excellente alors j’en suis très heureuse !

I heard Hollywood might be interested in your trilogy. What can you tell us about it ? After The Hunger Games, The Giver, The Maze and Divergent, how do you think your books could stand out on the screen ? YES! The movie rights to Unremembered have been optioned and now the film is “in development” which means it’s on its way to the big screen! The producers (who did Vampire Academy, Bend it Like Beckham, Life of Pi, and Slumdog Millionaire) are working on the movie now and I think it’s going to be great! I’m very excited to see it on the big screen!

Oui ! Les droits pour le cinéma d’Unremembered ont été réservés et le film est désormais « en cours de développement« , ce qui signifie qu’il est sur la voie d’être porté sur grand écran ! Les producteurs (qui ont fait Vampire AcademyJoue-la comme BeckhamL’Odyssée de Pi et Slumdog Millionaire) travaillent actuellement sur le film et je pense que ça va être génial ! Je suis très impatiente de le voir sur grand écran !

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jugd9FoFshc]

Meta

  • Your favourite book ? The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins or Room by Emma Donoghue.
  • Your favourite song ? Ours by Taylor Swift.
  • Your favourite movie ? Inside Out [ndlf : Vice et Versa] or Sliding Doors.
  • Your favourite writer ? Sophie Kinsella. She makes me laugh with every book!
  • What you will never be able to read, no matter how hard you try ? War and Peace [ndlf : Guerre et Paix, de Léon Tolstoï]. It’s just too long!
  • A useless thing you couldn’t do without ? My soft fuzzy socks!
  • Give us a secret information. I can’t touch my own belly button. I’m actually terrified of belly buttons. They make me so squeamish !

Vil Faquin.

De la même auteure : Le Programmeur de mémoire.
Sur un thème similaire : Cyberpunk – 1988édito de Raphaël Colson partie 1 et 2.

4 commentaires

Laisser un commentaire